The American Advertising Federation's Silver Medal Award Program was established in 1959 to recognize men and women who have made outstanding contributions to advertising and who have been active in furthering the industry's standards, creative excellence and responsibility in areas of social concern. Annually, AAF member clubs bestow this honor upon outstanding members of the local advertising community.

For many local clubs, awarding the AAF Silver Medal is the highlight of their year! It enhances the image of advertising by recognizing a locally well-known person for their advertising and community involvement.

Silver Medal


Silver Medal recipients are selected by a panel of judges from each local club. Judges use the following criteria when making their selections:

Contribution to His/Her Company - The recipient must have achieved success in one of the following areas of work: advertising agency, advertiser, media or advertising service

Creative Ability - The recipient must have shown a consistent, high degree of original thinking in their field.

Contributions to the General Advancement of Advertising - The recipient must have worked to increase the stature and raise the standards of the advertising profession.

Contributions to the Community - The recipient should be someone who has been active in civic, religious, or other groups dedicated to human or social welfare.

Thom_Silver Medal Winner_2020


Thom Gonyeau, Mountain View Group

Thom has excelled in the advertising, marketing and communications industries for more than 30 years.

He is principal and co-founder of Mountain View Group and has served as President of the Albany Ad Club, Atlanta Ad Club and the Creative Club and is immediate past Chair of the Creative Education Foundation.

His impressive client roster has included GE, The Coca-Cola Company and Alcon. 


Richard M. McArthur, Higgins-McArthur Company - 1958

J.S. Roberts, Retail Credit Association - 1959

Gussie O. Jones, Atlanta Gas Light Company - 1960

Lewis F. Gordon, Sr., Citizens & Southern National Bank - 1961

Tucker Wayne, Tucker Wayne & Company - 1962

Marshall H. Lane, The Coca-Cola Company - 1963

A.B. Richardson, The Life Insurance Company of Georgia - 1964

Mendel Segal, The Stein Printing Company - 1965

William W. Neal, Liller, Neal, Battle & Lindsey, Inc. - 1966

Robert C. Lowe, Jr., Lowe and Stevens, Inc. - 1967

George E. Bounds, Delta Air Lines, Inc. - 1968

Elmo Ellis, WSB-AM and WSB-FM - 1969

Richard H. Rich, Rich’s, Inc. - 1970

C.K. (Pete) Liller, Liller, Neal, Battle & Lindsey, Inc. - 1971

Dora and Clayton Cosse, Dora-Clayton Agency - 1972

Wilbur Kurtz, The Coca-Cola Company - 1973

Richard E. Hodges, Liller, Neal, Battle & Lindsey, Inc. - 1974

Claude Grizzard, Grizzard Advertising, Inc. - 1975

Fred A. George, Jr., George and Glover, Inc. - 1976

Moreland Moncrief, Atlanta Steel Company - 1977

Don Elliot Heald, WSB-TV - 1978

Robert Schaefer, Tucker Wayne & Company - 1979

Howard Axelberg, Liller, Neal, Battle & Lindsey, Inc. - 1980

Burke Dowling Adams, Burke Dowling Adams, Inc. - 1981

Jack Burton, Burton-Campbell, Inc. - 1982

Glenn Verrill, Burke Dowling Adams, Inc. - 1983

R.E. Turner, III, Turner Communications Corporation - 1984

Marie W. Dodd, Ivan Allen Company - 1985

Mike McDonald, McDonald & Little - 1986

Jim Pringle, Pringle, Dixon, Pringle - 1987

Austin P. Kelley, Austin Kelley Advertising, Inc. - 1988

Ira C. Herbert, The Coca-Cola Company - 1989

Andrew S. Fisher, Cox Broadcasting - 1990

Cathy Coffey, Cox Newspapers - 1991

Alf Nucifora, Nucifora Consulting Group - 1992

David P. Fitzgerald, Fitzgerald & Company - 1993

G. Clisby Clarke, McCann-Erickson - 1994

Neill Cameron, Ogilvy & Mather - 1995

Spurgeon Richardson, Atlanta Convention & Visitors Bureau - 1996

Norm Grey, Creative Circus - 1997

B.A. Albert, MATCH, Inc. – 1998

Joey Reiman, Bright House – 1999

Larry Smith, Larry Smith & Associates – 2001

John Drake, Cole Henderson Drake – 2002

Jerry Brown, One Source Marketing - 2003

Guy Tucker, Ask Guy Tucker, Inc. – 2004

Ed Baker, Atlanta Business Chronicle – 2005

Jim Pollak, Pollak Levitt- 2006

Patrick Scullin, Ames Scullin O’Haire – 2007

Rena Kilgannon, Kilgannon – 2008

Bob Morrison, Morrison Agency - 2009

Brad Copeland, Copeland Design - 2019

Thom Gonyeau, Mountainview Group - 2020